Lovely Bridal Shop

In a (much) earlier post I wrote about going to the Lovely Bridal Shop in search of my wedding dress.  My best friend recently sent me some photos from that day that I would like to share.

I found Lovely Bridal Shop after I got the amazing Elizabeth Dye dresses stuck in my head months before we got engaged. I forget exactly how I came across her blog, but it was love at first sight.  My favorites were the  Oysters and Pearls, Honeychurch and Beatrix dresses, and I looked at them almost everyday. Since Lovely was the only store in New York City that sold them, I booked an appointment.  I went about this process similarly to applying for college–giving myself one shot to get it right and no safety net. I didn’t make appointments anywhere else.  And though I knew I wanted my mom and sister with me when I did find “the dress” (they flew in with my adorable niece specifically for this occasion), I just had a good feeling about Lovely.

Located in an adorable brownstone on a tree-lined street in the West Village, Lovely is in one of my favorite neighborhoods in New York City. The store itself is small, intimate and beautiful–it was exactly what I was looking for. With Elizabeth Dye dresses on my mind, I quickly scoured the racks.  I found the Honeychurch almost immediately and my heart raced with the thought that this could be it. Luckily the sales person assigned to me convinced me to bring some others (including strapless-which I was wholeheartedly against) upstairs.

The first dress I tried on was magical. It wasn’t Elizabeth Dye. It wasn’t at all what I was looking for. It was strapless. It fit though, perfectly. It complimented my body. It was “the dress”. I, and my whole entourage, was not not prepared for this dress–and for sure not prepared for it to be “the dress”. It was though. I tried on about seven others after, and one (above) came in a close second (mostly because I put on a veil and my mom cried) but it still didn’t have the magic that first dress had.

Moral of the story is: you think you know what you want and what you like, but you have to be open. I was lucky enough to go somewhere like Lovely and trust the brilliant salespeople. I said no to so many things about my dress, and it turned into “the dress”. I did have it though, that feeling. I doubted it from the start, but the second I was zipped into the dress I knew it was my dress. Being a bride in love is pure magic.

*The dress in the photo above is not my wedding dress.

**The Elizabeth Dye dresses I tried on were lovely, but they were not made for my body type.

***Photo Credit to the lovely and talented Kristen Diederich

Leave a Reply

